I Want To Tell Your Story:Story Tellers Series

I think the best intro for this post can be summed up by Salman Rushdie’s quote

Who what am I?

My answer: I am the sum total of everything that went before me, of all I have been seen done, of everything done-to-me. I am everyone everything whose being-in-the-world affected was affected by mine. I am anything that happens after I’ve gone which would not have happened if I had not come. Nor am I particularly exceptional in this matter; each “I”, everyone of the now-six-hundred-million-plus of us, contains a similar multitude. I repeat for the last time: to understand me, you’ll have to swallow a world.

One thing that fascinates me is the impact and influence of a person telling their story. I truly believe that real life experiences shape our personalities, who we are, what we become, and the legacy we leave behind for future generations.

Through personal difficulties and real life examples of people making a difference, one can gain insight, obtain a sense of empowerment, and associate a person with a story.

We are so unique and special. All of us have something that makes us tick. We all have those “aha” moments, and the moments that make us love the life we live.

I am going to start a series on my blog highlighting people and their stories, sort of like a young nonprofit professional StoryCorps. I want to know what makes them tick, what gives them passion, and what the overall goal of their life is.

I want to highlight the unknowns. They won’t be famous or well known. You won’t know them, and they probably won’t know you. I need the ones that are in the background volunteering, the ones mentoring high school students, the individuals who are at a crossroads in their lives. I want you.

I need the individuals who will stop at nothing to get to where they want to be, and have the passion to make change happen in their prospective environments.

I will probably do a series of about 5-15 people, I have not fully decided yet. It depends on how many people want me to pick their brains.I want to introduce you to some sector changers, some global citizens, those humanitarians, those young nonprofit professionals just trying to make their way in life, just like me. Through our stories, we can empower each other to continue making a difference. I have your back and I know you have mine!

Please email me or comment if you don’t mind me digging around and highlighting you in my blog!

Email: breauna.hagan@gmail.com

I am excited to introduce you to some amazing people. Stay tuned.

Leave a comment